The school was originally Gomersal St. Mary’s CE(A) First & Nursery School. It was re-named Gomersal St. Mary’s Primary School for September 2012 under the reorganisation of Kirklees schools.
This tapestry on display in the school’s entrance, shows the significant events in the history of the school and local area. It shows two local churches, in Little Gomersal from 1843 and St Mary’s Church from 1851.
The mill shown is Burnley’s Mill, now demolished and turned into a housing estate, near the school. As well as this, it depicts the old Hill Top Primary School, built in 1874 and destroyed by fire in 1979.
Gomersal Middle School was built on that site with the main Gomersal St. Mary’s building being completed in 1982.
Since then, we have had extra modular buildings added on to accommodate the expansion to a Primary school for the 2012-13 academic year. In 2014, the school changed status from Voluntary Aided to Voluntary Controlled.